The Marc Labarbe auction house is pleased to welcome September 17 to 26, 2018 an exhibition devoted to Michel Marin, an artist born in the South of France, whose international career began in the 1970s.

A complete artist

Born in 1947 in Béziers (France) Michel Marin is very early attracted to painting; at the age of 14, he began learning how to restore works of art in the Liaudet workshop, a renowned establishment in the south of France. Having studied law and political science, he began his professional life by teaching at the Faculty of Law of Toulouse from 1970 alongside a career as a lawyer. However, he has never moved away from the artistic creation process, dedicating himself full-time from the age of 40 years.

Complete artist, Michel Marin writes, composes, sculpts.

Laureate of the Paul Ricard Space in November 1995, Marin continues the exhibitions in France and abroad. In 1998 he directed a medium-length film "Couleurs Intimes" which condenses his paintings and writings. That same year, his meeting with the artist Jean Pons (1936-2016) was decisive. Their interviews and their epistolary exchanges are in the words of Michel Marin himself " the gem of (his) artistic life ".

It was on the advice of Jean Pons that he began to travel, through "traveling workshops" in the Philippines, Vietnam, Canada, the United States, Russia via the Trans-Siberian, via Ulan Bator and Beijing ...

 

 

Michel Marin in his studio.

 

A free and liberated creation

 

Marin has a technique and an artistic culture that gives him total freedom in his creation. "Revealer of the imagination", he takes on this time a boring look that sends society and each of us to his own image. Freed from figuration, his works explore the expressive capacities of abstraction, in the direct line of informal painting. Black or golden monochromes, with rich shades, these canvases are also the support of a strong materialistic expression: traces of brushes, reliefs and play of volumes with the light.

Since 2005, Michel Marin has found a base of retreat conducive to inspiration, in the Aude workshop at the Moulin du Christ in Peyrefitte-sur-l'Hers.

The Marc Labarbe Auction House has the honor of presenting fifteen paintings that are the result of his work on black and gold. Following this exhibition, these paintings, as well as 32 others, will be presented at public auction, in Aude, on the grounds of Michel Marin, a few kilometers from his studio.

"My artistic approach boasts a timeless aesthetic imbued with spirituality. "

"My paintings tame all environments and are built in the inner journey of each, because my titles are just the story of my creative alibi. "

 


Exit Grange, the work of Michel Marin

 

This will be the September 30, 2018 in the picturesque village of Salles sur l'Hers that will be held an auction of works by Michel Marin.

 

Forty-seven paintings will be presented, all monochrome black or gold.

 

Place : Room in Gauzy, Salles sur l'Hers

Exhibitions of 47 paintings : Saturday 29th September (14h - 19h) and Sunday 30th September 2018 (10h - 12h30)

Public auction : 30 September at 15:00

 


DECRYPTAGE, by Michel Marin

 

 

A FIGURATION OF THE SOUL

 For more than ten years, my previous creative journeys, my wanderings out of the system and the jolts of life have engaged me in a timeless aesthetic dialogue to express a cosmic vision of being.

By investing my web of metaphysical and spiritual resonances, the tent offers the viewer an introspective, mystical experience. 

 My motto can be summarized as follows: to hang other levels of reality by effects of matter and reflections, to dilute the real into the impalpable.

On the aesthetic level, the result is more of the technique of bas-reliefs than painting; indeed, it is the pictorial matter that becomes the very subject of the work. 

The result is technically a chromatic patina nuanced and brilliant that goes beyond the mere visual fact of color and give my work an alter-dimensional opening. "

Close Menu
×

cart

La maison de vente Marc Labarbe a l’immense plaisir d’accueillir du 17 au 26 septembre 2018 une exposition consacrée à Michel Marin, un artiste natif du Sud de la France dont la carrière aujourd’hui internationale a débuté dans les années 1970.

Un artiste complet

Né en 1947 à Béziers (France) Michel Marin se révèle très tôt attiré par la peinture ; dès l’âge de 14 ans, il s’initie aux techniques de restauration des œuvres d’art dans l’atelier Liaudet un établissement réputé du sud de la France.  Ayant suivi des études de droit et sciences politiques, il commence sa vie professionnelle par le métier d’enseignant à la Faculté de droit de Toulouse à partir de 1970 parallèlement à une carrière de juriste. Il ne s’est toutefois jamais éloigné de la démarche de création artistique, en s’y consacrant à temps plein à partir de l’âge d e40 ans.

Artiste complet, Michel Marin écrit, compose, sculpte.

Lauréat de l’Espace Paul Ricard en Novembre 1995, Marin enchaîne les expositions en France et à l’étranger.  Il réalise en 1998 un film moyen métrage « Couleurs Intimes » qui condense ses peintures et ses écrits. Cette même année, sa rencontre avec l’artiste Jean Pons (1936-2016)  fut décisive. Leurs entrevues et  leurs échanges épistolaires sont selon les termes de Michel Marin lui-même « la pierre précieuse de (sa) vie artistique ».

C’est sur les conseils de Jean Pons qu’il commença alors à voyager, par le biais « d’ateliers itinérants » aux Philippines, au Vietnam, au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Russie au moyen du Transsibérien, via Oulan Bator et Pékin…

 

 

Michel Marin dans son atelier.

 

Une création libre et libérée

 

Marin possède une technique et une culture artistique qui lui assurent une totale liberté dans sa création. « Révélateur d’imaginaire », il promène sur ce temps un regard cuisant qui renvoie la société et chacun de nous à sa propre image. Libérées de la figuration, ses œuvres explorent les capacités expressive de l’abstraction, dans la lignée directe de la peinture informelle. Monochromes noirs ou dorés, aux riches nuances, ces toiles sont aussi le support d’une expression matiériste poussée : traces de pinceaux, reliefs et jeu des volumes avec la lumière.

Depuis 2005, Michel Marin s’est trouvé une base de repli propice à l’inspiration, dans l’Aude à l’Atelier au Moulin du Christ à Peyrefitte-sur-l’Hers.

La Maison de vente Marc Labarbe a l’honneur de présenter quinze tableaux qui sont le fruit de son travail sur le noir et le doré.  A la suite de cette exposition, ces toiles, ainsi que 32 autres, seront présentées en vente aux enchères publiques, dans l’Aude, sur les terres de Michel Marin, à quelques kilomètres de son atelier.

« Ma démarche artistique revendique une esthétique intemporelle empreinte de spiritualité. »

« Mes toiles apprivoisent tous les environnements et se construisent dans le cheminement intérieur de chacun, car mes titres ne sont que l’histoire de mon alibi créatif. »

 


Sortie de Grange, l’œuvre de Michel Marin

 

Cela sera le 30 septembre 2018 dans le village pittoresque de Salles sur l’Hers que se tiendra une vente aux enchères des œuvres de Michel Marin.

 

Quarante-sept tableaux seront présentés, tous monochromes noirs ou dorés.

 

Lieu : salle en Gauzy, à Salles sur l’Hers

Expositions des 47 toiles : samedi 29 septembre (14h – 19h)  et dimanche 30 septembre 2018 (10h – 12h30)

Vente aux enchères publiques : 30 septembre à 15h00

 


DECRYPTAGE, par Michel Marin

 

 

UNE FIGURATION DE L’ÂME

 « Depuis plus de dix ans, mes voyages créatifs précédents, mes errances hors du système et les soubresauts de la vie m’ont engagé dans un dialogue esthétique intemporel afin d’exprimer une vision cosmique de l’être.

En investissant ma toile de résonances métaphysiques et spirituelles, le tente d’offrir au spectateur une voie introspective, une expérience mystique. 

 Ma devise peut se résumer ainsi : accrocher d’autres niveaux de réalité par des effets de matière et des reflets, diluer le réel dans l’impalpable.

Sur le plan esthétique, le résultat relève davantage de la technique des bas-reliefs que de la peinture ; en effet, c’est la matière picturale qui devient le sujet même de l’œuvre. 

Le rendu résulte techniquement d’une patine chromatique nuancée et brillante qui permet de dépasser le simple fait visuel de la couleur et de conférer à mon travail une ouverture alter-dimensionnelle. »

Fermer le menu
×

Panier